top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrigid Levi

Turn off the Screen, Turn on the Podcast

Updated: Sep 18, 2020

Back-to-school season is in full swing, and from what I've gathered, parents and teachers alike are struggling to make this new normal work. Personally, I decided not to go back to teaching this year and have been thrust into the difficult and exhausting role of stay-at-home mom for the first time. I cannot even imagine what it means to be a parent working from home with children learning from home. My prayers are with you. I'd like to introduce you to something that I think parents, kids, and even teachers might find to be a beacon of hope to break up the monotony of Zoom classes.

"Stoopkid Stories" is a storybook podcast series by my friend Melissa Victor. These are short, fictional stories told from the point-of-view of young, Black characters that range in topics from self-confidence to dealing with bullies to getting braces. There are episodes for kids of all ages with themes that lend themselves to meaningful conversations that can be had in and out of the classroom.


The wonderful thing about a story told in a podcast - or really any audio - form, is that kids get to use their imaginations as they listen. They get to decide what the characters are wearing or what the scenery looks like. They become the illustrators of the story while Melissa's voice narrates their vision. This seems like the perfect reprieve from sitting in front of a computer all day, especially for the little ones. It could also be a great resource for teachers from which to create lessons that students can go off and do on their own (comprehension questions, anyone?).


When I decided I wanted to write about this dynamic podcast so that more people could know about it, I reached out to Melissa with some interview questions so she could tell you about it herself. Melissa and I met in college while we both pursued a degree in musical theater. She was - and still is - a firecracker whose love for God shines through in all she does. Read on to learn more about Stoopkid Stories from the author herself.


How did you come up with the idea for this podcast?

Honestly, God told me to do it. I was in NYC in between gigs and asked God to help me stay creatively fulfilled. Three times over the course of 2019, the Holy Spirit told me to start this podcast. Every time the instructions grew more specific, and finally, I gave in to the Holy Spirit and said, “Okay, God, I’m going to do this, but this isn’t for me, it's for You.” And He has been making a way for it ever since I said yes.


In your opinion, what is the ideal age range for young listeners?

Five and up


Why do you think the Stoopkids are necessary right now?

It's so necessary for so many reasons. One, we are in a pandemic, and I know parents, guardians, teachers, babysitters - you name it - need something for their children to do since our everyday lives have been shaken up. It gives children some off-screen time. Also, I want Black kids to see themselves represented in all forms of media: movies, tv shows, theatre, literature, and since there is a lane now within podcasting why not allow young Black kids to hear themselves represented in this medium? Also, it allows non-Black parents to introduce their children and community to Black stories which can and will hopefully open the door for meaningful conversation. Black stories matter. Black children matter.


Can you explain your creative process for developing stories? How do you get your ideas for new content?

A lot of the stories are based on experiences from my childhood, things I remember going through while growing, things I watched my sister go through while growing. Those experiences, plus my love for 90s cartoons, mixed with my wild imagination and love for Black history is what makes these stories so special and unique to me.


Do you have a favorite episode? If so, why does that one stick out for you?

All of the characters have a special place in my heart (says every author). I think my favorite episodes are the BB twins episode and Peach and the Spelling Bee. Peach is based on my little sister so that’s why her episode is one of my faves and the BB twins because they are dancers just like me.


What message do you want kids and parents to take away when they listen to Stoopkid Stories?

Firstly, I want them to simply enjoy the stories. Secondly, I hope that my listeners take away that yes, my skin color may be different than yours, and I may grow up in a different type of community than you but we aren’t that different. Kids go to school, they deal with friendships and bullying and puberty and family issues no matter where you come from or who you are.


How often do you post episodes and when can we expect the next one to air?

I post episodes every other Monday! (Shoutout to the podcasters who can produce a show weekly, I’m getting there haha). The next episode will air on Monday, September 21!


Stoopkid Stories is available on any platform that supports podcasts such as Apple Podcast, Spotify, Google Podcasts, iHeart Radio, and Kids Listen: Podcasts for Kids. You can follow Stoopkid Stories on Instagram and twitter @stoopkidstories and Facebook. Also, if you would like to become a patron and get patron-only gifts for the stoop kids in your life, visit www.patreon.com/stoopkidstories and make a pledge for as low as $2.


Comentarios


bottom of page