top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrigid Levi

I Will Give You Rest


The weather is changing. Each day gets a little colder, and each night comes a little sooner. We're gearing up for our jackets and sweaters, our slippers and heated blankets, and readying ourselves to spend more time indoors.


There has always been something magical for me about fall. I think I can attribute it mostly to the changing, vibrant colors that only come this time of year and remind us of the beauty in God's creation. I appreciate that God gave us an entire season filled with beauty to prepare us for the change to winter, especially because I am a person who does not deal with change very well.


I expected this fall would be a little different, and in a way, it has. We spent our entire spring and most of the summer indoors, away from social interaction and the beauty of nature. I expected that come fall, I would dread the thought of gearing up to stay indoors all over again. But I was wrong.


Quarantining during spring when we are reawakened to God's glorious creations made me even more aware of the beauty of fall. I am more thankful than ever to be able to be outside and revel in what God has given us, but I know this may not be the case for others.


This season, especially the end of it, can be a source of anxiety for some. I know several people who suffer from Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD) and now is the time when symptoms strike. For those who are unaware, this disorder is caused by the changing seasons and usually includes a depression that sets in during the fall and winter months. I can't imagine how these people might feel with winter coming practically on the heels of quarantine.


So, for the month of October, I landed on the theme of Comfort for the Music of Your Heart playlist. I figured there were a lot of people, whether affected by SAD or not, that could use some of God's comfort. Maybe some are worried about the upcoming holidays and how they'll look vastly different this year. Maybe some are already burned out from virtual school. Whatever your struggles, God will give you rest if you give Him your burdens.


On top of that awesome point, the month of October is dedicated to the Holy Rosary. Who better than our Blessed Mother to comfort us in our struggles and sorrows? So for those that find comfort in Mary, lean on the rosary. Perhaps you can listen to the playlist in the background while you pray! And if you are so moved, please consider including those who suffer from SAD on your beads.


Because of how challenging this year has been, I included every big name in this playlist. You've got songs about God, Jesus, Mary, and the Holy Spirit so all your bases are covered. I'm hoping as you listen to this, you feel the comfort of one of - if not all - these heavenly beings. So, wrap yourself up in your favorite blanket, light your favorite candle, and get to praying!


Click HERE to play on Spotify.

Click HERE to play on YouTube.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page